Go To Search

Old Bridge Across Grimes CreekCounty Government Structure
The 21-member Board of Supervisors is the legislative and policy-making body of Ontario County. The Board is composed of elected officials representing our 26 municipalities (18 towns, six villages, and two cities.

The board has established 10 "standing committees" to provide initial discussion and review issues impacting county operations. Each committee consists of six supervisors and is supported by county staff for administrative purposes. Resolutions are prepared for consideration of the full Board of Supervisors after a consensus has been reached at the committee level.

Planning & Research Committee
The Planning & Research Committee (PRC) of the Board of Supervisors oversees Planning activities in the county. The planning director and staff provide administrative support.

The PRC has oversight with the following departments and programs:

  • Agricultural Enhancement Board
  • Cornell Cooperative Extension*
  • County Planning Board
  • Genesee Regional Planning Council activities / coordination
  • Genesee Transportation Council activities / coordination
  • Grants
  • Industrial Development Authority (IDA)*
  • Office of Economic Development
  • Planning & Research Department
  • Soil and Water Conservation District*
  • Tourism Bureau*
  • Watershed Activities
*Denotes organizations that are independent, county-supported agencies with their own Board of Directors.

Given the breadth of issues and services, the planning function is a partnership between the PRC, county departments and related non- profit organizations. This is a "shared mission" to provide services and develop strategies to plan for improved livability and for the physical and fiscal well being of Ontario County.

Contact Us


20 Ontario St., Third Floor
Canandaigua, NY 14424

Ph: (585) 396-4455
Fx: (585) 393-2960

Info Advanced