Click to Home
Go To Search
Transferring & Duplicate Permit Application
Transferring a Pistol Permit
When transferring your permit to another county you must complete a transfer order form through this office. There will be a $5 fee (payable by cash or check) for Ontario County and a $5 fee (payable by check only) for the county you wish to transfer to.

Applying For a Duplicate Pistol Permit
You may apply for a duplicate permit if your current permit becomes mutilated, lost, or stolen. You must apply for the duplicate in person at the Ontario County Clerk's Office.

What to Bring
You will need to bring a list of the guns you currently own. There is a $5 fee for the duplicate permit.

Additional Information About Pistol Permits
If a pistol is lost or stolen, notify a law-enforcement agency and come into the County Clerk's Office to make an amendment to remove the lost or stolen gun from your permit. You will need the make, caliber, and serial number of the handgun and the name of the law-enforcement agency you reported it to.

Death of a Permit Holder
If a pistol permit holder should pass away, a family member must surrender the permit to the county in which the permit was issued from or last transferred to.

Moving Out of State
If a pistol permit holder should move out of New York State, the permit must be surrendered to the county in which the permit was issued from or last transferred to. You must be a New York State resident in order to hold a New York State pistol permit.